Sable Kitchen

Sable kitchen has a special place in my heart. I came here once with my family after not seeing them for while and the second time for my 21st birthday dinner. Each time I come here, I am blown away by the awesome variety of flavorful dishes. Located in River North next to the Hotel Palomar, Sable Kitchen serves contemporary American food and drinks. The plates are cocktail style and meant to be shared.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This is yet another place in which I like to gorge myself whenever I go with friends or family. In our latest trip, my family and I ordered 10 dishes, which is about the standard for us. There are no bad dishes at Sable Kitchen so I’ll go over some of the highlights. To start,  we ordered the mushroom flatbread, steak tartare and the another dish involving carbs with a pork spread. As someone that doesn’t usually order vegetarian dishes, the mushroom flatbread was a tasty surprise. It had juicy, savory flavors and wasn’t too filling – this is definitely a recipe I am going to try to copy. The steak tartare was spiced slightly different than what I had tried before with a heavier influence of dijon mustard. The toasted bread for both the tartare and the pork spread were worth stuffing down.screen-shot-2017-01-14-at-3-50-02-pm

 

For the later courses, we ordered the braised pork cheek, chicken and waffles, wagyu  beef sliders and a few other dishes. At this point, we were, as you can imagine, incredibly full. But, true foodies preserve in the face of a challenge. The truffle fries, wagyu beef sliders, and the chicken and waffles capped out the carb train we were on. By the end of the meal, we were close to needing to be rolled out, but it was definitely worth it.

Comment below your favorite place for contemporary food! We’d love to check it out.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

Leave a Reply

