Tapas for Brunch

As I have made obvious from past posts – I love any restaurant that serves food in the form of small plates or tapas. The more flavors that I can try, the better. Recently, my family came down to the city and we decided to get brunch at Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba located in Lincoln Park. Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba has a delicious variety of sangria pitchers as well as savory tapas. My family and I have been a few times, but not yet with their brunch menu so we were very excited for what was in store.

For drinks my dad and I ordered sangrias with the meal, I got my usual, the White Peach, while my dad got the traditional flavor. For food, we picked out a little bit of everything from the brunch menu. The first dishes to arrive were our two orders of “shrimp and grits”. The shrimp was Spanish baby ghost shrimp in chorizo polenta. These were an incredibly tasty spin on a classic dish. The polenta had a nice savory flavor and the heavier texture of the polenta paired with the juicy shrimp balanced each other out perfectly.

After the “shrimp and grits” we enjoyed a sausage fried paella with a poached egg on top, beef tenderloin with horseradish, and ham hash with an assortment of veggies. The last two dishes to come were the grilled octopus and the beef tenderloin eggs benedict. The octopus was some of the best that I’ve ever had. Personally, I think octopus is best when left simple. This was grilled to perfection and lightly flavored with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Everything was just right. Also being someone that orders eggs benedict at 90% of the time I eat out for breakfast, I would call myself an aficionado. I hadn’t yet tried eggs benedict with beef, but overall the combination of the egg, beef, and hollandaise worked well together.

Any recommendations for tapas in Chicago? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

