Seafood Brunch

My grandma was born in Manila, Philipines. She moved to the US in the 1970s  and has been back a handful of times since then. A few weekends ago, twenty of our family members came together at McCormmick and Schmick’s for a send off dinner for my grandma as she’s permanently moving back to the Philipines. The family was feeling celebratory for the sendoff and it was great to have family members all together in one spot.

To start, I ordered a mimosa as well as four New Jersey Blue Point oysters to split with my sister. This was only the second time that I’ve ordered oysters. For many years I was scared to navigate through the oyster waters, but one day I simply decided to take the plunge and I immediately fell in love. These oysters were absolutely delectable. They had a refreshing taste, which is why they were quickly slurped within minutes. For the main course, I ordered crab cake benedict. While the crab cake drenched in hollandaise was tasty, by far the best part of the dish was the deep fried potatoes. The batter was a cheesy and the potatoes were extra crunchy. I was very tempted to order an extra side of them.

Where do you like to get brunch in Chicago? Let us know below!

Leave a Reply

